saturday book review: everybody, always & love does

apfe book review: books by author bob goff

So I have been working on the blog. Exploring all of my joy for writing. Since my brain goes all over the place (most of the time), I started making categories and drafts. Posts that I want to put together but am not finishing right now. Today, I created a book review category since reading is now a large part of my life. Here is to the first of many (since I read about one a week) book reviews. And by review, I mean opinion, and by that I mean meandering-wandering-giving-insight-into-why the book struck me.

To catch you up on what is not known; I use an app called Hoopla to listen to audiobooks. I also use Libby, when I run out of check-outs. Lawrence Public Library only allows (4) books to be checked out per month. Libby does not have limits but has a much longer waiting time to check one out. You have to place holds etc. and wait… I have found that listening to a book on my 30-35 min commute (each way), to be a superb value add for my time. I have also “read” more books in the last couple of months than I had ever dreamed I would prior to the app use. I have knocked out 24 borrowed books thus far and finished almost all of the books from Audible. I used to use Audible – so I own several. But now, I have much love for the good ‘ol library.

The book I am choosing to comment on for my first book is Everybody, Always. Once I started to map the post in my mind I realized that I cannot separate this one from Love Does. Both books are by author Bob Goff and I listened to both of them in a relatively close time frame to one another. I picked up Everybody, Always on a whim. One of those… sounds interesting, the cover is catchy and I couldn’t think of another atm. Then I was hooked. The time flew by and I was left wanting more. So much so, in fact, I quickly did research, found Love Does and became a fanboy emailing the author (he did reply much to my delight).

The books both have similar themes about hope. Love people. Think of your neighbors and show them, love. While this has Christian undertones, and it is clear that Bob is a Christian, it does not come across like a sermon. The author walks through ideas in depth; he doesn’t just settle at God… then next point. Me, also being a Christian, loves the approach which uses his life stories as well as surrounding friends, to share a message that is inclusive, caring and thought-provoking. It is apparent that Bob sets his mind to something and does it. The author has a very colorful life (and perspective of it) where he does not let things hold him back. From the time in Uganda as an official diplomat where he works with others to save children from witch doctors to his determination to find meaning in life. The search sent him to the mountains where he decided he was going to drop out of school (that young teen angst) to sitting outside of the dean’s office at the law school he to get in to after being rejected. Day after day he took a post and showed his determination and passion to want to do something – for others, well of course, until the dean accepted him “go get your books.”

Bob has a message. One of love, generosity, adventure, and dedication. Page after page we navigate his bold and whimsical life where he shares honest perspectives. How people do feel. How people will and could react. How we can share more love, compassion, and take advantage of the days we have here on this planet, Earth. (Unless you are from another then that place too. And yay for me reaching other worlds!) I found myself swept away in this book wanting to read more. First, to hear more about his caring care free viewpoint and then realizing that it is possible to do things. Good-natured things that have great intentions and can actually make a difference in the work. And that there are people out there that really do love their neighbor.

So, if you want a simple read that is complex in nature. Grab one of these inspirational pieces of literature and read how he has an office at Tom Sawyer Island. The book is stunning and if you chose the audio version here & here) you also get to hear the inflection and emphasis from the author, himself.

Happy reading!

P.S. I love feedback. Please feel free to contact me via comment, post or whatever is most convenient for you.

Published by i am an author, but just a plain joe.

My name is Joe. And I am plain. And that, friend, is okay by me. I really enjoy writing and have a few things in process at any given moment. I fancy sci-fi and also a good drama. I often have my nose in a business/educational type book. Ignore me if I am snoring :) I have a wonderful Q, two wonderful fur-babies, and several children in my life. I am truly blessed. I hope that you read something of mine - smile and enjoy it. That's it. I am complete with that. ~joe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started