america and pretending social distance

I was thinking about the world a bit. How China has people that have re-tested positive for COVID-19. Or perhaps, they were never cured? We don’t know what we don’t know and that, friends, is scary to me. My mind continues to wander all over the place and like a complicated game of lights out, I cannot get them all. Wrapping up this week – and wondering what the next will have in store for us. I do see glimmers of hope in basic humanity. The silver lining, if I can find one. I did not intend to go on a rant, but it looks like my sci-fi story will wait another day. Prepare…bleeeeghhh…

I mention us as spoiled, since I was thinking about what a lockdown is, or could be. I was thinking about how we have declared only essential functions still be performed, and just like the bureaucrats, have missed the mark. I mean, I need my Starbucks. My for-profit sandwich place is still open. I still get to interact with people making it. Handing it to me. And we are kidding ourselves if that is protecting us. While the lack of crowds is a great step, we neglect to think about the young man or young woman working today for that sandwich. They may have a grandma in their home. Or younger brother and sister. We have convinced ourselves that we are doing something, which is better than nothing, and by the way, we really didn’t lose a whole lot of convenience. The contact is still there – and while it may not be exploiting all of the risks – the curve is not going to flatten. A lockdown should be painful. Truly isolating. We have done the equivalent of sending the misbehaving child to his or her room with a video game awaiting. But they are in their room… Checkbox.

I don’t know right now. I have never felt so aimless in my life. Scratch that, I have. But never, like this, without some structure. In the prior case of aimlessness, I chose to avoid the structure. Rebelled maybe? Now, I read countless blogs, posts, tweets, feeds, texts… all experiencing some form of this. The news is bad. Many people are actually trying to quarantine. The news is still bad. Which of my friends or family is at greatest risk? How can I go one step further? What if… what if… what if… It probably did not help that I did my Last Will and Testament. I had not updated since my life circumstances changed. And considering the increased possibilities of things – I wanted to make sure things were taken care of.

Well, I did not intend to post today. Or go dark as I did. I heard the neighbors (a young group of guys) hanging out in their driveway… I remembered seeing another group… I saw the line at Starbucks as I drove from work. (My work is in food manufacturing – so I am still working.) Then I contemplated what would a true lockdown look like. And why do we try to do both? I don’t know. This post is rawer (less polished than some). Sorry about that. I just wanted the words out there; the thoughts worked through.

I am calling this post done today. Feedback always welcome.

I truly do wish you the best. Try to stay safe. WW. joe.

[EDIT: 03/28 09:40AM] ::::::::::::::

This friends, is why we cannot make exceptions… PRIMARY business should be the determination. This is how we miss the mark… Bass Pro can stay open because it sells some food.
https://www2.ljworld.com/news/state-region/2020/mar/27/kansas-missouri-counties-disagree-if-bass-pro-can-stay-open-amid-pandemic/

Published by i am an author, but just a plain joe.

My name is Joe. And I am plain. And that, friend, is okay by me. I really enjoy writing and have a few things in process at any given moment. I fancy sci-fi and also a good drama. I often have my nose in a business/educational type book. Ignore me if I am snoring :) I have a wonderful Q, two wonderful fur-babies, and several children in my life. I am truly blessed. I hope that you read something of mine - smile and enjoy it. That's it. I am complete with that. ~joe

4 thoughts on “america and pretending social distance

  1. I was just discussing this with my daughter (via text since she lives across town and we haven’t seen each other since 3/17). She wondered why the hardware store is open. I suggested maybe because they sell plumbing supplies and that is pretty essential if you have a plumbing issue. I think as a society we can justify anything as essential if we want to. Coming up with the reason to shut everything down for two weeks is harder. I think the way to go is set a date a few days out, give everyone a chance to buy their groceries, wine (yup, the liquor stores are still open here) and whatever other necessities they need and quarantine everyone for 3 weeks. It’s well worth the sacrifice if it saves one life.
    Stay safe.

    Like

    1. Yes! Plan and then do. Liquor store are open here. Bass Pro shops too apparently. Essential is left way too vague. With planning and ration control – we can make it three weeks. Even if it’s ramen and pb&j. This is too much luxury effort. I like the way you think. For once, I really wish I lived on a commune. Well, I wish I did for a lot of other reasons but now would be a nice time. Or a small village in the middle of Wyoming or Montana.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started